top of page

Kayden Update!!

Hey everyone :) so I know it has been a few weeks sense our last update, but we have not had a whole lot of information to update anyone on until now.

We went in today for our second Fetal Echo Cardiogram to follow up on the hole in Kayden's heart that is between his right atrium and left atrium ( this is not the same hole as the Patent Ductus that all babies have when born that closes within first hours of birth) This hole is the one that will keep Kayden alive until he receives his first surgery in the first week of his life.

We originally were told to prepare for this hole to continue to get smaller and become more restricted as he progressed in gestation. If it continued to get smaller and become more restrictive to blood flow the need for them to take him instantly when born to the Cath Lab would be critical for his survival.

Fortunately we received great news today! Kayden's hole has not become smaller and is no more restricted then our previous appointment. If this hole continues to remain the same and blood flow does not become restrictive there is a good chance Jake and I will be able to hold Kayden when he is first born! We have a couple more appointments to monitor this hole before he is born, but we hope we continue to get good news and that this hole remains the same.

We do not have a day yet that I will be Induced on and will probably not have one until we get closer to Kayden's due date. They want to keep him in gestation as close to 40 weeks as possible as him being born closer to his original due date gives him greater chances at survival and recovery from all the surgeries and such to come. We do know who the surgeons will be, but will not meet them until after Kayden is born unless we choose to meet with them before hand.

We were given a tour today of the CICU at primary children's and we do have to say it is a little overwhelming knowing that our baby boy is going to be in there right after birth, it is definitely scary knowing that we are preparing to be there for multiple weeks possibly months depending on how he does before and after surgery. we are very grateful though to those who work on this unit and how kind and supportive they all are. It takes a special kind of spirit to do that job, and we know Kayden is going to be in the best hands at primaries which eases some of our fear and worry.

As far as whether or not I will be able to deliver vaginally (I get this question all the time :) ) It all comes down to Kayden and how he reacts to his stress tests. I will begin those tests weekly starting at 32 weeks until he is born. Depending on those results will determine if I can deliver vaginally or if I will need to have a cesarean delivery. I am hoping I can deliver him vaginally so that I can go to the CICU where he will be faster.

That is all the update and information we have at this time and will learn more come August 11th. In the mean time Jake and I are enjoying and having lots of fun preparing for Kayden to come:) some of the things we have been doing is getting his Nursery set up we have redone a crib, dresser and lamp for his room, and I am working on the little wall hangings to make it feel more like a nursery :) I love to do DIY projects and this is a fun way to keep me focused on the positive :) secretly Jake loves my DIY projects too:)

We have also been collecting little socks :) when he is born he will not be able to wear clothes, but we want him to have something cute to put on him and socks were really the only option :) hopefully hats as well, but they told us it depends so we will see about those.

Fun little things to know Kayden is constantly kicking my left side! it is never the right(that is where his head always is) and there are times his kicks are kind of intense! It is fun to press on my belly because he does NOT like his space to be invaded he will punch/kick at you. That was fun to see him do today at our fetal Echo he would punch right where her hand was. Definitely has a sassy personality :)It is fun to feel him move about and try to get comfortable, I fortunately know how he feels because I Never can get comfortable these days and if I do its only for a minute or two before I need to reposition again or I have to pee for the millionth time.

Honeybee and Moose are very aware of Kayden they always have to be in the same room as me and are always wanting their cuddle time. Which I do not mind at all they are sweet girls. I will leave some photos of Kayden's room so far below:) I am 27 weeks and there is only 1 more week until I'm in my 3rd trimester!!

Jake and I are horrible at selfies lol enjoy

Our silly faces cause we cant seem to take a good one.... we are not selfie experts at all.

Kayden's little socks:)


Meet the Ninja parents 

We are Samantha and Ray...

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts

Supermommy

King of Dads

Babyville

Krafty Kids

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Our Community 
bottom of page